Slight obsessed?

Mastodon’s new album Emperor of Sand came out this past week and so far, it is so good.  Right now, I love the last song “Jaguar God” and for some reason, it’s so easy to picture.  I don’t really know what I picture, but it’s something 🙂

The music just curls along my skin, almost making me tremble.  There aren’t a lot of songs that make me feel like this.  In fact, the only other song that makes me feel this is the song “I Tamper With The Evidence At The Murder Site Of Odin”.

Okay, I’ll admit that I’m thinking about John Marston while listening to this song.

I ain’t no good
And I live by the woods
They say I ain’t bad
On the best day I’ve had
And I know it ain’t right,
But I’ll fight my whole life
To prove that I was right

The day it went down
I was out of my pad
Not feeling so bad
I’m a suspect now
I’m a vagabond tramp
Living out on the limb

I live by the woods
They say I ain’t bad
I’m the best day I’ve had
And I know it ain’t right,
But I’ll fight my whole life
Just to prove that I was right

Terrestrial fire, descending from underground
Godspeed divine, so we control the mound
Shape shifter, spirits whisper
Guide me through this black sorcery

Flashing teeth, aggressive tendencies
Cloaked beneath, silver redeems
Smoking mirrors, black obsidian
Tell us where to find the marrow

The prophecy, will be realized
Lord of the near and the nigh
Possessor of earth and sky

Guard your temples from destruction
Make sure no one goes inside

The prophecy, will be realized
Lord of the near and the nigh
Possessor of earth and sky

It’s right in front of me
The throne of maladies
It’s right in front of me
Your malignancy

It’s right in front of me
The throne of maladies
It’s right in front of me
Your malignancy

It’s right in front of me
The throne of maladies
It’s right in front of me
Your malignancy

Leave a Reply

